The Earthshot Prize Announces its first Trustees


The Earthshot Prize has announced its founding Trustees – Christiana Figueres, David Fein and ‘Tokunboh Ishmael. The Prize was designed and incubated by The Royal Foundation, and after an immensely successful first year – with fifteen incredible Winners and Finalists discovered from across the globe – work is underway to establish the Prize as an independent organisation later this year. 

The three incoming Trustees, announced today will bring a wealth of knowledge, experience and passion to the Prize as it establishes its independence:  

  • Christiana Figueres, who has been a Member of The Earthshot Prize Council since 2020, will take the position of the Chair of the Board. She is the co-founder of Global Optimism and former UN Climate Chief responsible for the delivery of the landmark Paris Agreement on Climate Change in 2015. 
  • David Fein will hold the position of Vice Chair. He is Special Counsel at Paul Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP and has a long history of working with The Duke of Cambridge and The Royal Foundation as Chair of The Royal Foundation’s United for Wildlife Financial Taskforce. 
  • ‘Tokunboh Ishamael joins the Prize as an incoming Trustee with a background as the co-founder and Managing Director of Alitheia Capital, a pioneer ESG and Impact Investing Fund Management firm. 

These three extraordinary individuals will work alongside future board members to bring independent, diverse and expert perspectives to guide and oversee The Earthshot Prize.  

Click here for more on The Earthshot Prize

“Alongside their diverse and independent perspectives, these Trustees bring extraordinary experience in climate action, as well as expertise in governance, public-private partnerships, and impact investing.” 

 – Lord Hague, Chair of The Royal Foundation